Sunday, December 1, 2013

Queen Charlotte's Lever Watch commissioned by Count DeBruhl

Queen Charlotte's Lever Watch and Pedestal

Overview

Creator: 
Thomas Mudge (1715-94) (clockmaker (movement))
Creation Date: 
1770
Materials: 
Gold watch case with enamel dial In tortoiseshell and gilt bronze plinth
Dimensions: 
10.0 x 8.6 x 8.6 cm
RCIN 
63759
Reference(s):
XQG 2004 GIII 293
Acquirer: 
George III, King of the United Kingdom (1738-1820)
Provenance: 
Probably acquired by George III for Queen Charlotte in 1770
Description: 
Because it incorporates the earliest known example of the lever escapement this unique watch has been described as ‘perhaps the most historically important watch in the world’. With the exception of the balance spring, this was the greatest single improvement that has ever been applied to watches. As such, this watch is the forerunner of almost all modern wrist and pocket watches. In addition this was the first pocket watch to have an automatic device for compensating changes in temperature.
Thomas Mudge invented the lever escapement in 1754 but this watch, made in 1770, appears to have been the first one to incorporate this important innovation. It was probably acquired by George III for Queen Charlotte: it was referred to as the ‘Queen’s watch’ in correspondence between Mudge and his patron Count von Bruhl, Saxon Ambassador to Great Britain, when it had been returned to Mudge's Plymouth workshop for alterations and adjustment in the early 1770s. Mudge subsequently described his invention as ‘the most perfect watch that can be worn in the pocket, that was ever made’.
Thomas Mudge was born in Exeter in 1715, the second son of the Revd Zachariah Mudge. As a young man Thomas was apprenticed to the celebrated clock, watch and instrument maker George Graham, in the Clockmakers' Company, London. In 1738, Thomas Mudge became a Freeman in the Company. In 1750, just before his former master's death, Mudge opened a business in his own right at the 'Dial and One Crown' in Fleet Street and four years late took Matthew Dutton, another of Graham's apprentices, into partnership.
It is not clear when the plinth was acquired. Signs of alteration suggest that it may not have been made originally for the watch. The first reference to the plinth is in 1825 when the watch was repaired and the plinth overhauled by B.L. Vulliamy for George IV. The watch may have joined the ‘twenty-five watches, all highly adorn’d with jewels’ noticed by Mrs Lybbe Powys in a case beside the Queen’s bed at Buckingham House in 1767.
Backplate signed Tho Mudge / London. Gold case struck with London hallmarks for 1769-70 and maker’s mark PM probably Peter Mounier of Frith Street.
Catalogue entry adapted from George III & Queen Charlotte: Patronage, Collecting and Court Taste, London, 2004

Thursday, November 28, 2013

The Swan Service Dresden China commissioned by Count von Bruhl

Swan Service


The “Swan” service was ordered in 1736 for the director of the Meissen manufactory, Heinrich, Graf von Brühl, and originally comprised over 2200 pieces, of which the larger part remained in the family’s possession until World War II. From around 1880, however, pieces were lent to museums in Dresden and Berlin or passed on to collectors, so that by 1900 only 1400 pieces remained at the family’s Silesian seat, Schloss Pförten. These remaining pieces were either destroyed along with the castle, or stolen, at the end of World War II, when Russian soldiers are also said to have thrown plates and saucers into the air to be used like clay pigeon targets!
In the December Marouf sale, $88,960 was paid for the ­chocolate cup and saucer seen above, modelled 1739-40 by J.J. Kändler and J.F. Eberlein. The white bodies of the cup and saucer are shell moulded with swans swimming among bulrushes, decorated with Indianische Blumen and (as did nearly all pieces in this great service) bear the arms of Count Brühl and his new wife, Maria Anna Franziska von Kolowrat-Krakowska.
Despite some damage and restoration not originally noted in the sale catalogue, the écuelle and cover from the “Swan” service, seen at right, was sold at $156,220 in the more recent, May sale of the Marouf collection.

Friday, October 11, 2013

John Quitman Marshall

Notable Columbians                              1
State of South Carolina
January 15, 1936
By Helen Kohn Hennig

South Carolina Biography   Marshall, John Quitman
Page 363.

South Carolina has had two sons who have taken more conspicuous
Places in great public affairs, and who have been better known to fame, but we doubt if South Carolina ever had a better citizen than this man, John Quitman Marshall who was truly a Columbia, for on April 1, 1849, saw his birth at the home of his grandfather, Jesse DeBruhl at 1401, Laurel Street His mother Elizabeth DeBruhl
Marshall had come from her husband’s house in Abbeville to be with her mother Elizabeth and there on April- Fool day a son who was supposed to be a girl was born.  The baby had an interesting ancestry, English Nova Scotia and Virginian.  His DeBruhl ancestors had participated in the American Revolution, while his
Marshall great-great-grandfather had been seized during the English impressment prior to the War of 1812 taken from the boat
Leaving his wife and ten children behind, and transferred for service to an English vessel.  His desperation was such that he gave
The Masonic cry of ultimate despair and was finally released so
That he could accompany his family to America.
Quitman Marshall’s boyhood was spent in his father’s home in
Abbeville. Where he was educated, first by governesses and tutors’
And later in the Abbeville schools.  There were six children in the family and their youth seems to have been that of an average
Well-to-do small town South Carolina family of the days before
The Confederate War.

J. Foster Marshall the father of Quitman, had served as captain of
Company E, Palmetto regiment. In the Mexican war, and when his state again engaged in battle he entered the Confederate service, being killed at Second Manassas.  As soon as his son attained the age of 16, he too, joined the Confederate forces, serving for several
Months, until the surrender at Appomattox, in guarding supplies
At Newberry, SC.
                                                               2
After his discharge from the army, he entered the South Carolina
College, leaving in 1873, after having delivered the valedictory speech as last president of the Clariosophic society.  In this speech he reflects the difficulties of the college when he states that it is always an honor to be president of the Clariosophie society, but
The greatest honor is in being it’s final president.  That year there were only eight degrees conferred by the college, four in law, three
in medicine, and one AB.  Immediately after leaving college, Mr. Marshall entered the practice of law.  Establishing his office in a little building on Law Range just behind the present Central Union
Building.  He always enjoyed telling that he was a self–made man and illustrated his contention by reminding his friends that when he entered that office he had 50 cents in his pocket.  Here he practiced until August 11, 1908.  When he laid aside all earthly
burdens at age 59 years.
His service to the state and to the city of his birth was varied and important.  For several years he served as state senator from this county, vigorously guarding the welfare of his constituents.  He served as secretary of state under Governor John Peter Richardson and was a colonel of the state militia.  His most outstanding service to the city of Columbia was as president of the Columbia Electric Street Railway company: becoming it’s first president after the old horse drawn cars were withdrawn in favor of electricity.  At that time such men, as W.H. Lyles and W.A. Clark were his colleagues in providing adequate transportation facilities for Columbia.  When the system first went into effect, Columbia boasted of a 500 horsepower plant.  Today the same plant yields 13,000 horsepower.  Many old citizens of Columbia can remember the car barns located on Gervais street.  Between Lincoln and Gates just below the Seaboard Air Line railroad station.
June 12, 1890 Mr. Marshall married Jane Adams Brooks, the daughter of Capt. John Hampden Brooks and Mary Goodwin Adams.
She was thus the granddaughter of Governor James Hopkins Adams.  The marriage took place at Roseland, Edgefield County,
The ceremony was performed by Bishop Ellison Capers.  Of this union four children were born, Janie, (Mrs. James H. Hammond), Elizabeth, (Mrs., Gordon Calhoun Wright) J. Foster, who married

                                                                 3

Miss Walton Richardson, and John Quitman whose wife was Miss Helen Bruton. There are today four Quitman Marshalls who bear the name of their illustrious grandfather.
The name Quitman, which is distinctly Georgian, has an interesting connection here.  Jehu Foster Marshall gave to his son the name of John Quitman of Georgia on whose staff Mr. Marshall Sr. had served and whose portrait presented to his fellow officers by the general, is a treasured possession of the family. As magistrate, Mr. Marshall had perhaps the most dramatic experience of his life for it fell to his lot to swear in Governor Wade Hampton and Lieutenant Governor W.D. Simpson.  The Democratic Supreme Court then sat in the office occupied by Col. Marshall at the time of his death and the legislature met in Carolina Hall, an old brick building in the middle of the block, back of the courthouse.  It was on the portico of this building, which then had a clear opening to Main Street that
Colonel Marshall swore in Wade Hampton and W.D. Simpson as governor and lieutenant governor.
It was indeed fitting that Colonel Marshall should have headed the commission for the erection of a suitable statue as a memorial to Governor Hampton and unfortunate that he should die before he could see the completion of his dream.  As Secretary of State Colonel Marshall was in charge of seeing the completion of the State Capitol building.  He fought long and hard to see that the builders and contractors stuck to the original design.   This magnificent architectural treasure was completed and preserved]
Thanks to Colonel Marshall.
When Colonel and Mrs. Marshall came to Columbia immediately after their wedding, they boarded for a short time and then set up housekeeping at 1501 Lady street, where they remained until 1905, when Mr. Marshall purchased from the estate of his step-grandmother the ancestral DeBruhl mansion at 1401 Laurel
Street, where Mrs. Marshall remained until her death in 1917.
Since that time the mansion has been known as the DeBruhl Marshall house and is listed on the National Register of Historic
Sites to be preserved.  South Carolinian Robert Mills famed for his design of the Washington Monument designed it.

                                                                  4

That Mr. Marshall took an active part in the social life of Columbia is attested by an invitation which reads as follows:  “Columbia Cotillion club first season 1873, requests the pleasure of your company, at the Miss Percival’s at 8 1-2 0’clock. Pm Dec. 18th
Signed J. Quitman Marshall Sec.”  With the invitation, was mailed a dance card setting forth that the president of the club was Gen. M.C.
Butler; the vice presidents were; Dr. B.W. Taylor, Capt. W.K. Bachman, J.T. Sloan, Jr. and Wilie Jones, while the treasurer was
J.S. Muller.  The dances, 12 in number were: Gallop, quadrille, waltz, gallop, lancers, and waltz, the second half calling for two quadrilles, two gallops, one waltz and the grand finale of a reel.
The committee arrangements reception named, was Maj. J.B.Ezell,
W.H.Fisher, and Dr. T.T. Moore,  Mr. Marshall was also a member of the Columbia club. That interesting institution, which has threaded it’s way through so much of Columbia’s social life.  The Masonic order also received much of the interest and attention of Mr. Marshall.
For several years before his death Mr. Marshall was ill and forced to conserve the energy, which remained in spite of his personal infirmities.  When the paving of Columbia’s streets became an issue
Of considerable importance and a monumental project both in size and scope a man was needed to straighten out the complicated project and insure for Columbia the best and most beautiful wide
Avenues and streets possible.  Mr. Marshall undertook to head the commission though both his friends and doctors and family had urged him not to undertake such a task they had warned him his health would suffer.  His reply was, that he would rather die doing something for Columbia, and that is practically what he did. For the unusual strain of long hours and extreme summer heat in Columbia all conspired to further weaken his heart.  In a vain effort to repair his health, he went to Buffalo Lithia Springs in Virginia and there died.
The articles about him in the newspapers at the time of his death spoke of his great love for children, and commented upon the usual sight of seeing him drive along with his buggy full of children, his own and the neighbors’ one of his family remembered with amusement those afternoon drives behind the horse “Drag”.

                                                                5

So named because he literally dragged in harness.  One of the idiosyncrasies of this horse was that every time the load of youngsters approached a bridge, Mr. Marshall had to get out unhitch the horse, lead him across the bridge, then come back and pull the carriage across by hand then rehitch , and drive on. Naturally such peculiarities on the part of Drag made the usual afternoon drive a thrilling adventure.
At the time of his death Mayor Reamer ordered that all city offices be draped in mourning and the city bell be tolled during the funeral.
Mr. Reamer expressed for himself and for Columbia his feelings in these words; “He was a true man and we need him, we need many like him, he was endowed with the generous spirit of the Cavalier
And yet there was a puritanical honesty and directness about him which caused him to be feared and heartily disliked by those who had evil purposes to conceal, But none has ever questioned his honesty, his fidelity to public trust or faithfulness to the interests of friends, And in making friends he was not quick to take up with strangers, but he sought rather those whose hearts beat true.  His ambition was not to create great wealth, but to be a good citizen.”
One who was near and dear to Mr. Marshall, when asked what his great contribution to the city and to the state had been answered, “He was a good citizen”. Surely nothing could more entitle a man to be in the gallery of notable Columbians!

Transcribed by Norman DeBruhl Thursday October 10, 2013


Saturday, September 21, 2013

James Tilden DeBruhl

Published: 12:00 AM, Mon Jul 29, 2013
James T. DeBruhl Sr.



[+] click to enlarge
DeBruhl




FAYETTEVILLE - James Tilden DeBruhl Sr., 85, of Fayetteville, peacefully went home to be with the Lord on Friday, July 26, 2013, at his home with his family by his side.
He was born April 9, 1928, in Craven County, to William Leo DeBruhl and Kathleen Ormond.
He served in the Navy as an airplane mechanic in Norfolk, Va., and later as a mechanic at Stallings Air Force Base in Kinston.
After moving to Fayetteville, He was the owner of Star Cleaners and owned and operated Lafayette Sanitation and Lafayette Transportation Service. After retiring, planting flowers and beautifying his yard became his hobby. He loved working in his yard and enjoying his beautiful flowers.
He was a member of St. Matthews United Methodist Church since 1958 and was a member of Masonic Lodge 391 in Hope Mills. He also helped organize Rae-of-Hope Community Center in Cumberland County.
He was preceded in death by his parents; his sisters, Ronell Smith, Edna Parker and Bertha Howard; and brothers, W.L., Thurman, Clifton, Ralph and Robert.
James is survived by his wife of 61 years, Joyce Gaskins DeBruhl; his daughters, Deborah Currie and husband Don of Fayetteville and Jacqueline DeBruhl of Fayetteville; his son, James DeBruhl Jr. and wife Eileen of Hope Mills; seven grandchildren; 10 great-grandchildren; and his little faithful pet companion, Angel.
Visitation will be held from 6 to 8 tonight, Monday, July 29, 2013, at Jernigan-Warren Funeral Home in Fayetteville.
Funeral service will be held at 11 a.m. Tuesday, July 30, at St. Matthews United Methodist Church, with entombment following in Cumberland Memorial Gardens on Raeford Road.
In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions can be made to the American Lung Association, 1301 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004
Online condolences can be made at jerniganwarren.com.


Friday, July 26, 2013

Everett Hines DeBruhl







Everett Hines De Bruhl


Obituary  March 16, 2010


Everett Hines (Bud) DeBruhl, 88, died on March 16, 2010, on his farm near Lula, after a long illness. A seventh-generation North Carolinian, DeBruhl was born Jan. 26, 1922, in Rocky Mount, N.C., the son of Arthur M. and Janie Wright DeBruhl. The family returned to Buncombe County soon after.

He graduated from Woodfin High School in 1937, and attended the Farm School, now Warren Wilson College. He joined the U.S. Navy in 1939, and served aboard the battleship Mississippi in the North Atlantic and the North and South Pacific in World War II. In 1943, he volunteered to join an ultra-secret naval communications group, the so-called "Rice Paddy Navy," which, aided by Chinese guerrillas, set up sites behind the lines in Japanese-occupied China to provide crucial intelligence to the Pacific Fleet and the Air Forces. He was awarded the Bronze Star for heroic service.

De Bruhl left the Navy in 1946, and joined the IBM corporation, where he helped develop the early generation of computers. He was recalled to the Navy during the Korean War. He later was an executive with RCA, the Burroughs Corporation and Electrodata before forming his own companies, which included Tec America and Electronic Checkout Systems. In retirement, he was equally successful in his agricultural pursuits. He was a life-long member of Blackmer Masonic Lodge, Weaverville, N.C.

Everett DeBruhl is survived by his wife of 42 years, Mary Jo Jackson DeBruhl; a daughter from a previous marriage, Linda DeBruhl McLaughlin; two granddaughters; and six brothers and sisters, Rosa Lee DeBruhl O'Donnell, Rita DeBruhl Haynes, Lloyd George DeBruhl, Norman Hoyle DeBruhl, A. Marshall DeBruhl and Anna Kathryn DeBruhl Derossett. Two other sisters, Deane De Bruhl Blankenship and Josephine DeBruhl Parker, predeceased him.

There will be a visitation at William R. Strickland & Sons Funeral Directors in Clermont, March 17, from 6 to 8 p.m. Burial, at Ashelawn Gardens of Memory, Asheville, N.C., will be private.

Strickland Funeral Home, Clermont

Everett was descended from Michael Samuel and Margaret DeBruhl in the
following order:

Michael Samuel
Edward Cornwallis
William Franklin
Benjamin Franklin
William Leroi
Arthur Marvin
Everett Hines






Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Count Heinrich von Bruhl (deBruhl)

By Tobias Burg


THE PRIME MINISTER of Saxony Count Heinrich von Brühl (1700–63; Fig.15) who, after Augustus III, was the decisive political figure at the court of the Saxon elector and Polish king, has had an almost exclusively bad press ever since his death. He was considered partly, if not wholly, responsible for ruining Saxony’s state finances, not least because of shameless embezzlement. A pamphlet of 1927, for instance, summarises the low opinion in which he is still held: ‘From the very start, Brühl’s career was marked by the most unbridled and fanatical egotism. His natural abilities – hypocritical agility and dishonest obsequiousness – served a single purpose: that of filling his pockets with state property’. Such an assessment, however, is based on an opinion of Brühl’s actions formed immediately after his death – at a moment where there was a need for a scapegoat to explain the many and multifarious reasons why, in 1763, at the end of the Seven Years’ War, Saxony was politically and economically devastated. Brühl’s historical role has yet to be objectively assessed – and the granting of access to the extensive archive material on eighteenth-century Saxon politics, primarily stored at the Saxon Main State Archive in Dresden, represents a first important step in this direction.

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Count von Bruhl Swan Service



Details, top to bottom: Brühl-Kolowrat-Krakowský coat of arms; heron; swan
The Meissen factory produced presentation pieces used by diplomats as well as complete table services created for state occasions. Between 1736 and 1741, Modellmeister (head modeler) Johann Kaendler (1706-1775), created the Swan Service, the most elaborate dining service that was made at the Meissen Manufactory, for Count Heinrich von Brühl (1700-1763), prime minister to the Polish king Augustus III (reg. 1733-1763).
The service included over three thousand pieces and provided elaborate table settings for up to one hundred people. Designed to reflect the splendor of the king, the Swan Service contained elaborate figural designs featuring sculptural swans, herons and other acquatic plants and animals as well as the coat of arms of von Brühl.
Von Brühl’s diplomatic presentations achieved their greatest triumphs as objects of prestige throughout Europe. By the middle of the 18th century, firms in Vienna, Sèvres and Berlin were making porcelain, and the age of Meissen exclusivity had ended. Although porcelain of extraordinary quality is produced elsewhere, Meissen porcelain remains synonymous with a standard of excellence that reflects the passion and power of “white gold.”
«